Stravinsky from Memory: Part of BBC Proms

Nicholas Collon and the Aurora Orchestra’s from-memory performances have become a thrilling recent fixture of the Proms. Now, following symphonies by Beethoven, Brahms, Shostakovich and Berlioz, they tackle their most audacious challenge yet: a complete performance of the colourful 1945 suite from Stravinsky’s ballet The Firebird. Russian fairy tales and folk melodies collide with Stravinsky’s bold musical modernism to create a memorable score.

Nicholas Collon © Chris Christodolou

Radio 3 presenter Tom Service introduces the work from the stage, exploring its textures and themes and dismantling its intricate musical narrative with the help of Collon and his musicians. The concert opens with another Russian classic: Rachmaninov’s virtuosic Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, with former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist Pavel Kolesnikov as soloist.

Broadcast on BBC Four on Friday 13 August.


Sergey Rachmaninov, Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (23 mins)

Igor Stravinsky

    Tom Service and Nicholas Collon introduce Stravinsky’s ‘The Firebird’ suite (20 mins) The Firebird Suite, 1945 (31 mins)


    Pavel Kolesnikov, piano Tom Service, presenter Aurora Orchestra Nicholas Collon, conductor/presenter


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.