Soltani Plays Shostakovich – 14 January

‘The whole thing was outstanding’, continued the reviewer of this extraordinary cellist’s appearance here at the Royal Festival Hall a few years ago. So we’re delighted to welcome him back in Shostakovich’s powerful First Cello Concerto – and with Marin Alsop conducting, this should be no ordinary performance.

Marin Alsop ©Southbank Centre

Alsop is a conductor who illuminates everything she touches, so whether it’s the restless energy of Samuel Barber’s all-American classic or the autumnal beauty of Brahms’ magnificent farewell to the symphony, expect uncompromising sincerity and emotion without limits.

The ‘sublime cello soloist, effortlessly lyrical and profoundly touching’ (The Guardian) performs with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.


    London Philharmonic Orchestra Marin Alsop conductor Kian Soltani cello


    Barber: Symphony No.1 Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1 Interval Brahms: Symphony No.4

Approximate run time: 135 mins.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.